New Experiences


I decided that I needed to break out of my normal routine and try something different.  I mentioned in an earlier entry that I’m in a writing group at the VA.  

I also started Tai Chi and a meditation group.  Tai Chi is a new experience for me.  Doing things outside my comfort zone is frightening.  Starting something new is uncomfortable.  My brain keeps kicking into “be invisible ” and “I must be perfect.”  The military has a saying “crawl, walk, run” when learning new skills.  I’m definitely crawling.  It feels like a large risk.  There are two skills I am learnimg: one physical, one mental and emotional.  It’s been fun. 

Ego says, “Once everything falls into place, I’ll feel peace.”

Spirit says, “Find your peace and then everything will fall into place.”

Marrianne Williamson

The mediation group is a matter of discipline.   In the past I meditated frequently.  It quieted my mind.  My mind is chattering now.  Stressors, worries, fears, tasks, The Commitee; it’s a loud place.  Building back being able to quiet my mind and focus on breath, or nothing at all, will be a healthy thing for me.  

I hate risks.  Yet, here I am going out on a limb for three different classses.  There’s hope for me yet.

Challenge your limits.  

2 responses to “New Experiences

Leave a Reply

