Sensitive


A friend of mine tried to distract her daughter from watching a Humane Society commercial.  She is a sensitive kid and her mom was worried that the commercial would upset her.  Ella’s response:

” Yes, I am sensitive, but it’s my sensitive heart that makes me the perfect person to help others. If my heart was hard, I wouldn’t care. I hope I never stop being sensitive, even if that means sometimes my heart gets broken. Broken hearts can heal, but how do you fix someone who doesn’t care? 3 ❤ ❤ ❤ <3″ This is such a deep response from an 8 year old.  

Words of wisdom from an 8year old girl.
I was a sensitive kid.  Often my mother was critical of me.  She blamed my pain from being bullied as me being “too sensitive” and it would stop if I  would be like other kids.  It took me until I was an adult to realize that this was her attempt protect me.  Yet, as a child it only brought more pain.  I couldn’t depend on my mother for support.  I was lucky.  I had support from my brother and sister. The bullying pretty much stopped in high school.

Yes, I am sensitive, but it’s my sensitive heart that makes me the perfect person to help others. If my heart was hard, I wouldn’t care. I hope I never stop being sensitive, even if that means sometimes my heart gets broken. Broken hearts can heal, but how do you fix someone who doesn’t care? 3 ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Ironically, some of the kids who used to bully me started coming to me with problems.  I listened and didn’t judge.  And I wanted to help.  

I became a social worker.  Social workers often work with people on the fringes of society: the poor, people with substance abuse and/or mental illness, aanjsed children.  Some work in other ways such as hospital social workers.  Our jobs require a bit of sensitivity to others.  I grew up to be in a field that focuses on people needing some sort of help.

Sensitive kids and adults need support from friends and family.  The sensitivity that leads us to help others also causes us to often be hurt.   If you are a sensitive person, do not let anyone make you feel guilty, weak, or useless.  We have an important place in the world.  Someone has to care.  We do.

Leave a Reply

