Two Dollars and 26 Cents


We all take things for granted.  Things like basic life skills: washing,  getting dressed, eating, walking,  etc.  After brain injuries, many people struggle with Post Concussive Syndrome.  The after effects of our brain injuries stay around.  Sort of like the smell of my running shoes in the summer.

Some  TBI survivors never function the same post-injury.  They need help with basic things. There is such a variety of how much people heal.  And it doesn’t matter if it was a “mild” TBI or one “more serious.”  A mild TBI is like “slightly pregnant.”  You either have one or you don’t.  The chances of after effects increases due the severity of the injury.


At times, it can be equally frustrating and funny what becomes a challenge.  Making change.  Really.  A skill I had in grade school.  I bought a snack and wanted to pay for it with some of the collection of change.  The amount? $2.26.  How many quarters?! What about these dimes, nickels, and pennies?!  Slowly I count it out.  Then again.  And again.  Totally confused.  Fortunately, the clerk knew me and gently helped me figure it out.  🤓  She is a psychology student.  It’s funny how the small things can be a challenge but other things still come easily.  I don’t think I’ll ever totally figure this out.

$2.26.

2 responses to “Two Dollars and 26 Cents

  1. I only laughed while reading this because of how much I can relate and the irony of it all haha Reminded me of my most recent cooking experience, trying to halve a recipe. Simple, right? Gosh what is half of a 1/3?! My fiancé had to walk me through the steps of figuring it out (strenuous experience even after finishing calc, chem and many other courses I used to think were “fun”) Ok, figured it out with only minimal headache, its1/6! Shoot I read the recipe wrong, whats half of 2/3s?? After a few minutes of thinking I laughed out loud at myself, who would have ever thought these simple tasks would be a struggle? Life is strange. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

