You Never Know…


You never know how much you depend on a car until you no longer have one. Yesterday, my neurologist advised me to stop driving until my seizures are under control. In order to drive again, I have to be six months seizure free.

Today was the first day going to work, sans car. A friend picked me up for work. She lives a few miles away and my house is literally on her way to work. However, I was on my own to get home.

Public transportation in a rural area is limited. In order for me to ride a bus from work home, I have a bus transfer and a walk of a mile at the end. The first bus takes me downtown, in the opposite direction of home. I then catch another bus that takes me to a road a bit over a mile from my house. It would take a little over an hour. Any combination of bus routes involve a minimum walk of a mile and a half. And will take over an hour to get home. Walking is not a problem. Walking after a day of overstimulation, exhausting.

Today, I figured the time is the same, it will probably have less sensory stimulation walking. I live about 3.5 miles from work. It took an hour to walk. The last 20 minutes, I had a screaming migraine. It was just too much overstimulation after a day at work. Scratch walking home.

I am not upset over the loss of driving. I understand why I can’t. My convenience does not trump safety of myself and others.

I miss the almost total loss of independence this brings. For the next six months, I have to depend on rides from friends or the bus for pretty much everything. That’s hard.

20141024-184736-67656988.jpg

2 responses to “You Never Know…

  1. I too have been told not to drive because of my TBI. Public transportation is very difficult. I had to use it recently to get to my eye doctors appointment. I preplanned my trip correctly, just with the wrong address, the things one does when they have a concussion! Thanks for your blogs. Sometimes I feel so alone. My concussion is not visible, so when I make a mistake in public it is quite frustrating and tear causing! You are so brave and a hero!

    Like

    • In some ways, you’re ahead of me. I can’t manage public transport at all. I end up walking a lot unless I can afford a cab or get a friend to drive.

      One of the most frustrating things is that brain injury is invisible. Looking at me, I appear healthy and functional. It’s only when I open my mouth, have a seizure, or get stressed in a store that you notice.

      Don’t give up. There’s always hope for improvement. Or learning how to adapt.

      Like

Leave a Reply

