Stubborn or determined?


Koda and Taliesin

It will fit! It will! It will!

Bright pink spotted fish
Caught in teeth, hiding treasure
Determined ferret.
 

My recovery is much like Kaliyah trying to fit a stuffed fish under the couch.  Kaliyah does not stop.  She continues to attempt to drag the fish “where it belongs.”  The fish continues to be too large.  She hisses; she tugs.  Eventually, she realizes that her plan will not work.  She either finds another stash spot or leaves the fish next to the couch.  Off she goes to her next adventure.  There is a difference between stubborn and determined.  Stubborn is repeating the same action and expecting different results.  Determined is reaching for the same goal but applying different strategies and learning from mistakes.  I am stubborn when I compare myself now to who I was in the past, before injury.  Determined is when I accept where I am and work to heal, recovery, improve.

One response to “Stubborn or determined?

  1. I’ve heard that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over hoping for different results.

    Part of TBI can often times be perseveration, this is from http://www.thefreedictionary.com/perseveration:

    “Uncontrollable repetition of a particular response, such as a word, phrase, or gesture, despite the absence or cessation of a stimulus, usually caused by brain injury.”

    I’ve been there! Especially when worried, stressed, tired, anxious and/or fearful, my mind will go into this unending circle of mulling the problem over and over again trying to find a solution when all along my problem solving abilities have been injured too! Added to that is my own inner voice pressuring me, “I used to be able to do this.”

    Some of TBI is exploring what we can and can’t do – and – even that seems to vary day to day. It really is like trying to walk in shifting sand.

    Wishing you all the best today & always.

    Blessings, Love & Peace,
    RH

    Like this

Leave a Reply

