Changes


Tosca Playing

One remarkable trait of ferrets is their ability to change the color of their coats.  Usually, the changes are connected to seasonal “blowing” (shedding) of the coats and are mild.  Perhaps their fur is a little darker or lighter, or they may start to roan (silver).  Tosca went all out with her change.  She went from a panda marking to a  DEW (Dark-Eyed White).    Her tail, however, remained unique; black with two little white rings.

Tosca's Tail

Tosca "smiling"- playtime!

Well, she evidently decided it was time for change again.  She decided to add in a few black patches in her glorious fur for fun.  By AFA standards, she’s now a DEW Pattern.    I wasn’t able to get good photos of all the markings.

Tosca

 

At times, I envy the ferret’s ability to change her coat.  What fun can be had if I had that power!  I don’t like the shape of my nose… blow the nose (no pun intended- blow a coat; blow the nose).  Those laugh lines and wrinkles on my forehead… gone.   And hair color!  Ho!  Let’s try red this year.  Next year I’ll be blonde.  No more “dish water blonde.”  Let’s see: I like hazel eyes or perhaps darker blue.   The only drawback is frequency.  If I were as a ferret, I could only change twice a year; fall and spring.   And to be technical, it would only be my hair, not the rest of my features.  Tosca can’t change her snout, after all.   Well, until I gain that superpower, there’s always hair coloring at the salon and colored contacts.  The other stuff will have to just be.  I’m not into surgery.  No “body sculpting” for me.   I wonder if they make contacts in burgandy?  I love Tosca’s pretty burgandy eyes.   That might look odd on a human…

America is fascinated with physical appearances.    Youthful appearance is treasured.  You don’t want to look “old.”  Old being over 30.   We’re constantly bombared with commericals for hair color, white teeth, youthful skin, smooth legs, and a size 6 waist.    Even men are targeted- Just for Men.  Although, for them, it is acceptable to have some gray to look “experienced.”  With women, that’s old.  Underlying all this commercial hype is sex.  With men, it’s often obvious: Axe body products, drugs for getting it up and on.  It’s more subtle for women.   For women, it’s how to look younger and sexier.  And what sane woman would want to wax her bikini area?  Really?  Ripping off body hair from that area… ouch.

Clothing is another adventure.  We’re bombared with shows like “What Not to Wear” and makeover episodes on talk shows.  All the shows I’ve seen are the same.  The person comes out with the “in vogue” clothing and almost the same hairstyle.   And they are long hair styles.  “What Not to Wear” is better than most.  That show actually teaches people how to select the clothing, makeup, and hair that works for their body type and skin tone.   Magazines hype the most popular fashions.   Women’s jeans are now spandex and have “tummy control panels.”  They are designed to fit tight, no matter if that’s not what is comfortable or flattering.  I miss the old, real denim.   Yet, all this focuses on what the person is on the outside.  Isn’t the inside more important?   Clothing doesn’t make someone trustworthy, honest, hardworking, or happy.  If clothing truly reflected the person, our politicians would be wearing sackcloth and ashes.  Shouldn’t we spend as much effort as a society in instilling character traits that lead to a more productive, honest, and content society?

 

Sadly, I’m not immune to the pressure of physical appearances.  For me, it takes a different form.  I am not a fashionista.  I’m perfectly happy dressed in a casual or relaxed style.    My issue is phyiscal fitness.  After the accident, I gained 12 pounds.  To me, this was as traumatic as the injury!   From a slim, well-toned marathon runner, I transformed into a chunky, fat waisted, floppy size 8-10.   How terrible is that!  I know that many people would love to be a size 8 and really struggle to lose weight and improve fitness.  I’m not putting down anyone.  People’s bodies come in all different shapes and sizes.  Yet, for me, personally, it’s driving me crazy.  This physical change challenges another part of my identity, already under attack from the concussion.   “Physically fit, marathon runner.”

Physical fitness is a part of my identity.   I actually enjoy the process of weight training and running.  Usually.  The feeling of a hard run and the discomfort of the body morphing into the runner’s high and feeling of accomplishment after the workout is completed is priceless.   Even the marathons that I do not run well in, I still have the accomplishment of completing the  training and finishing the race.   26.2 miles is a long run.

Abdomen exercise- planking Dec 2010

 

Fall 2010

 

Last week (Sep 2011)

 

 

 

BOZU

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

