Thoughts on the journey


“It is better to travel well than to arrive.”  ~  Buddha
 

I view recovery as a journey.  It is discovery of current limits, challenging the limits to heal, and moving forward, no matter how slowly it seems to go. 

Yesterday was Lughnasadh; the first harvest.  What have I harvested in my life?   The concussion taught me what it is like to have a disability.  In the past, my knowledge was from my education and working with clients.  I understand now what it is like to struggle to perform tasks that are important in life. 

 I have learned about acceptance.  In mindfulness, acceptance teaches us to embrace the present moment and accept it for what is.  This doesn’t mean that we do not strive to bring about positive change.  However, without recognizing and accepting what is, we waste energy and time in denial.  We do not strive to change, we stive to hide from the problem.  Or we hide from knowledge of ourselves.  No one likes to examine their flaws.  It is uncomfortable.  Acceptance allows us to see ourselves gently.  We all have flaws.  Acceptance allows us to change. 

I harvested friendships.  I learned how many friends I have and was blessed by their help, support, and love.  I harvested accepting help.  I try to be independent.  But, in truth, we are all interdependent.  While I received, I also gave.  

  I harvested thankfulness.  I am alive and recovering from the injuries.   My injuries could have been much more serious. 

I harvested patience with myself.  It is hard recognizing and accepting my current limitations.  I continue to work toward recovery but must allow it to go its own pace. 

 I harvested the love of family.  The love was always there but often gone unrecognized.  This I will correct. 

I harvested brokeness and change.  My body has brokeness.   Brokeness has not ruined my life.  It has called me up to a higher level of understanding and growth.   My life has changed this summer.  I am less active, more contemplative as my concussion healed and allowed for reflection. 

I harvested willingness.  I have been a spiritual seeker for years.  I had not found a spiritual home in any faith community.    My accident has opened up a willingness to commit to a formal course of study and practice in a Path that has drawn me for years.  One that I have explored and practiced but never fully embraced due to fear.  I am willing to learn and practice the Path. 

What have you harvested this summer? 

Walking a journey of life, it’s not about our destination, it’s how we live on the journey.  

Leave a Reply

