spiritual journeying


“This is my simple religion. There is no need for temples; no need for complicated philosophy. Our own brain, our own heart is our temple; the philosophy is kindness.”– His Holiness, the Dalai Lama

This quote hits home for me.  So often, we look to complicated dogma to comprehend our spiritual lives.  Our spiritual celebrations and beliefs are tied to written texts and often the interpretation of the texts by people other than ourselves.   It is an easy way to find answers to deep questions.   The work is done by another.  All that is needed is to follow the rules and all is well.   As humans, we seek to understand purpose for our lives.  We try to comprehend the Creative Deity.   We place Deity in a box of written traditions. 

Over the years, I found formal religion unsatisfying.  I keep seeking for a deeper understanding and often found myself uncomfortable with the actions and beliefs of formal religion.  I was seeking meaning, not form.

This quote speaks of spiritual freedom.  And responsibility.  Kindness is to others and to ourselves.  We cannot harm another in the living of our lives.   I am not Buddhist.  Yet, I can learn from his wisdom. 

I find myself more drawn back to the Path of Wicca.   Wicca is often misunderstood.   It is not satan worship.   Wicca celebrates the Deity in the form of Goddess and God.  It is a religion of balance and responsibility.  There is no formal, written dogma.  Spiritually, you are responsible for your own Path and discovering how your spirituality applies to your life.  A primary tenet that underscores Wicca is “an it harm none, do as you will.”  Sounds easy.  Yet,  I have to consider every action from the perspective of how it will impact not only myself but others.  There is accountability in the form of the Three Fold Law.  What we send out, we get back.  Ever notice this?  If you send out negative energy, you get negative back.  Every action has consequences; some positive, some negative.   Wicca is a spirituality of balance.  In all honesty, I consider myself more an eclectic Pagan than a “card carrying Wiccan.”  I learn from all sources.  Including the Dalai Lama.

The Dalai Lama posed that our temple is ourselves.  We can connect to Deity anywhere, anytime.    Wicca is closely tied with nature and the cycle of seasons.  We can have altars in our homes, or in places outside.  But, although we have formal tools we don’t need them.  Our own minds and spirits are all we truly need. 

Kindness… With kindness is compassion.  Kindness is action.  It can be simple in our daily lives; smile at the clerk at the store and be patient when the line moves slowly, let someone into traffic while driving, tell someone special that you love them.   Kindness and compassion is service.  Work to make your area of the world a little better.  We often think at the macro level.  We have the mistaken impression that we have to be rich or famous or do some huge accomplishment in order to make the world a better place.  Truthfully, we don’t.   We can make our families a safe, happy place to grow and live.  We can make a difference in our community.  Sometimes, we can make one person’s life better.   Like throwing a stone in a lake, our kindness ripples out, getting larger and touching more people as the people we touched help others. 

When I started on my career, like most inexperienced social workers, I thought I could help everyone.  Change is difficult.  And the problems faced by many of the people I work with are huge.  In truth, I can’t heal anyone.  They must heal themselves.  I am a guide, a coach, a friend.  Sometimes I push, sometimes I just listen with compassion.  I hold hope that their lives can improve.   Yet, I know I make a difference.   

How are you living kindness? 

Outcast lives seeking
Compassion’s gentle embrace
Healing, hope, kindness
 
 
2 responses to “spiritual journeying

  1. I’m looking to get a support dog. I have PTSD and issues with anxiety, depression and other issues that go along with it.

    You mentioned a Shirley and how she helped you set up for acquiring a dog trained to assist you.

    H

    Like

    • Gail,
      If you’re a veteran who served overseas, there are many programs out there. How I am getting Scout trained is somewhat unusual. There is a program here with the local Humane Society and the prison to train dogs to be companion animals. Shirley is helping me to complete his training for service work and helped evaluate him for personality before he started at the prison.

      Most service dog programs have long waiting lists. There are some resources out there to train your own. One thing I would recommend is contacting a local trainer or a service dog program to see if they would help support your training the dog. It makes a difference.

      Like

Leave a Reply

